our peace

Who is fighting for peace anymore?

Making love in the early morning

Is an act of resistance,

I have decided

Loving you is the better path

I have found solace in surrender.

I melt over you like culinary art

Letting your softness smoothen my rough edges

Releasing my fists from their violence

From another day of failing to comprehend

The incessant killing of the innocent.

How can I disrupt the torture?

All I know is the release of tension

From my face and your touch.

Don’t let me lose you in the chaos.

Just twist your arms around my waist

Pulling me in, exhaling, breathing.

For once, humanity is easy.

p

The Creation of Adam, Michelangelo

 

Leave a Reply

