advice · challenge · experience · inspiration · life · love · poetry · positivity · self help · shoutout · society · support · tips · truth · Uncategorized · writing

Because I was willing, but am no longer

Because I was willing to walk to the ends of earth for you after only knowing you for a few weeks

Because I let you take up my mental and physical space

Attach to me, become a part of me

Because I opened up and went against my better judgment to trust someone who told me they were horrible

Because I played the fool and trusted you so soon

Believed you when you said you’d never ghost me

Would be there if I needed help

Would potentially love me

Travel with me

Be with me for at least a little while

Because I believed everything you said like I knew you after so short a time

Because you were really a stranger I met online who I convinced myself I loved

Because It’s my fault I’m suffering because of what you did to me

I’m letting go of the illusion of easy love

Love takes years

I thought I loved you at first sight because of the strong connection

But I didn’t know your faults or how you’d hurt me

I loved the idea of you

I loved the idea of being loved

Without knowing the lover

Know your lover better than you know yourself

Know that pretty words can mean nothing

Know that relationships take time and work

Know that nothing is promised, even promises

Know that we let our faults destroy us

Know that we’re all guilty of hurting others

And being hurt

Know that I know you’re human and I wish we had recognized that in one another

I don’t want to hold humans to high standards anymore

I accept your mistakes

But do you accept mine?

Or will you punish me for eternity for one slip?

The punishment doesn’t fit the crime

Whatever love you put out there,

I convinced myself belonged to me,

It was never mine.

Leave a comment